About the FRC

The Financial Reporting Council (FRC), a body corporate set up under the Financial Reporting Act 2004. It is an organisation under the aegis of the Ministry of Financial Services, Good Governance and Institutional Reforms. The FRC is mainly responsible for promoting confidence in corporate reporting and good corporate governance.
The Council main objects as defined in the FRAct are:
  • to promote the provision of high quality reporting of financial and non-financial information by public interest entities.
  • to promote the highest standards among licensed auditors
  • to enhance the credibility of financial reporting and
  • to improve the quality of accountancy and audit services
The benefits of good Financial Reporting are:
  • promoting private sector growth and reducing volatility through
  • Strengthening countries’ financial architecture and reducing the risk of financial market crises together with the associated negative economic impact
  • Contributing to foreign direct and portfolio investment
  • Helping to mobilize domestic savings
  • Facilitating the access of smaller-scale corporate borrowers to credit from the formal financial sector by lowering the barrier of high information and borrowing costs
  • Allowing investors to evaluate corporate prospects and make informed decisions resulting in lower cost of capital and better allocation of resources and
  • Facilitating integration into global financial and capital markets
Financial reporting is also a building block of a market-based monitoring of companies, which allows shareholders and the public at large to assess management performance, thus influencing behaviour. High quality financial reporting may also contribute to improving the assessment and collection of taxes on corporate profits

Operating Arms of the FRC

The operating arms of the FRC would be the Audit Practice Review Unit and the Financial Reporting Monitoring Unit. Each unit will be supported by a Panel of Experts

Members of the Council

Dr Satyabhooshun Gupt Domah, Chairman (appointed on 13 July 2014)
Council Members

Mrs Hemlata Sadhna Sewraj-Gopal

Second Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius
(appointed on 13 March 2020)

Mr Dhanesswurnath Thakoor

Chief Executive of the Financial Services Commission
(appointed on 17 June 2020)

Mr Sarwansingh Purmessur

Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Financial Services and Good Governance 
(appointed on 26 October 2020)

Mrs Prabha Divanandum Chinien

Registrar of Companies
(appointed on 20 January 2005)

Mr Matthew John Lamport

Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law and Management, University of Mauritius
(appointed on 20 January 2005)

Mr Afsar Ebrahim

Representative of the financial services sector
(appointed 26 October 2020)

Mr Sin Chong Li


Mr Mark Redmayne Pike Watkinson

Chairperson of MIPA
(appointed on 18 October 2023)

Chairperson of the Mauritius Institute of Directors
(appointed on 22 October 2023)

Mr Sunil Benimadhu

Representative from the National Committee on Corporate Governance
(appointed on 14 November 2018)

Mr Viswajithsingh Tuhobol

Officer-in-Charge of FRC




Skip to content